Healthnut does it again — another super slow marathon

Healthnut
7 min readApr 3, 2022
Irving Marathon 2022

Hmm… is it something to write a Medium story about? Not sure…

But since I have not written anything on Medium for a while. And this is currently fresh in my mind, I will do it anyway. Why? It might still be interesting to marathon wannabes who just want to complete a full marathon injury free.

When you are a runner you have a lot about being injury free. It has nothing to do with whether you are a novice or a pro. Runners of all levels have 50 percent chances of getting injured in any given year. Out of this 25% chance is just for injuring the knees. I just run slow as that protects from running injuries. I also do some basic strength training like squats on non-running days to strengthen my knees. There are many simple variations like air-squats, wall-sit which are really easy to do. You can search for them on you tube if you are interested.

If you are able to dodge the big one like cancer, heart disease, diabetes, it is the skeletal-muscular problems that gets you in old age. That is why having basic exercise as part of life is very important especially in the sedentary age we live in.

So last year in March-2021, I ran my first full marathon. It was Irving Marathon in Texas, which is a relatively flat racecourse so a good choice for first marathon. I was awfully unprepared…

--

--